Tags

,

20140718_151907A year or so ago, we bought the kids’ cookbook “Pretend Soup” for Joy. She loves it, and is always asking to make things out of it. I do my best to encourage her, and say “yes” when she asks, but sometimes my own exhaustion, tiredness of the kitchen, need to clean the kitchen, or something similar, keeps me from agreeing.

After our tick scare on Thursday, though, I was feeling especially tender toward both our girls. So I was the one to pull out the cookbook, and encouraged Joy to leaf through and find a recipe to try, one she hadn’t done yet.

She settled on popovers, and we planned to make them for an afternoon snack. We were a little late getting to them, due to unexpectedly having to plunge the toilet for fifteen minutes, but we made it work nonetheless.

Joy is left-handed and I am right, which can make working together challenging, but for this I stood back as much as I could, and managed to say not a word about drips or spills, and only helped when I needed to make sure she didn’t accidentally spill salt everywhere while measuring out 1/4 teaspoon, or to pour the milk into the measuring cup, or open the oven door.

She did a great job and I steadfastly ignored her hints about “Oh, this is so tiring!” as she stirred the batter, and she didn’t ask outright for help, and she did just fine on her own, even if she did decide she wanted to take a nap once they were done. The four of us polished off a full dozen popovers as a very late afternoon snack, and she beamed complacently when we complimented her on how delicious they were.

They were especially tasty with maple syrup, but then, isn’t everything?

Afterward Joy stood at the counter and picked all the “crispies” off the muffin tin, where they had stuck while baking. I told her that was the cook’s privilege.

It is a lot of work for me to let the girls work in the kitchen, but these are the times that remind me just how worth it that work is.

20140718_161851

