Tags

,

People tend to look at me with great shock when I say how tempted I am every single day to put the kids in public school, or how much I dislike teaching. It’s as though they think that every homeschooling parent must naturally gravitate toward homeschooling, must have a natural bent in that direction, must feel so passionately about it that they would never, ever, for a moment, consider anything else.

Bull.

“Oh, I could never homeschool, I just don’t have the talent for it,” people tell me. “I think it’s great, but I can’t teach. I admire so much people who do it.”

Bull.

I hate teaching. I have to use curriculum because I cannot possibly think up lesson plans on my own. We work from books and workbooks because I have neither the patience nor the creativity to follow the unschooling pattern. School goes longer than I want every day, and still we are missing half the subjects I want to cover, and I can’t for the life of me figure out how to reconcile that.

I am already looking into the possibility cost-wise of enrolling the kids in online academies when they reach third grade, so that I don’t have to continue teaching them myself.

I homeschool because the public school model is one that seems, to me, to be fundamentally flawed. I believe that the best teachers in the world cannot make up for a system that is broken. In order for my children to have the education that I believe is important, I have to take matters into my own hands.

That doesn’t mean I love homeschooling. That doesn’t mean I am naturally inclined toward teaching. That doesn’t mean that there are about a dozen things I would rather do with my days than teach.

It means that I am willing to make a whole boatload of sacrifices to achieve something that is immensely important to me: namely, that my children learn how to learn, how to think and reason, how to be independent, and that character is more important than knowledge.

