Joy and I are both mostly recovered from our colds. Grace’s cold has developed into bronchitis, and Carl never got sick. C’est la vie!

So today, I decided it was time for Joy to start doing some school again, since we had to take all of last week off due to sickness. I started her out with her handwriting book, since that’s her favorite part of school and a good way to ease back in.

Grace, who was curled up in a nest of pillows and blankets in one corner of the living room, immediately croaked, “Oh! I want to do handwriting too!”

“Even though you’re still sick?” I asked her, bemused.

“Yes,” she said. “I love handwriting.”

So I set her up at the table with her handwriting book, across from Joy and hers.

One of the delights of homeschooling, I guess – if your kid really, really wants to do school, even bronchitis doesn’t have to be an impediment.

(Also, who would have thought that handwriting, of all things, would be the favorite subject for both the first grader and the kindergartener?)

The sickie getting some salt air therapy at the beach.

The sickie getting some salt air therapy at the beach.

